The Unique Computers

National Digital Literacy Mission – NDLM

The Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (DISHA) or National Digital Literacy Mission (NDLM) Scheme has been formulated to impart IT training to 52.5 lakh persons, including Anganwadi and ASHA workers and authorised ration dealers in all the States/UTs across the country so that the non-IT literate citizens are trained to become IT literate so as to enable them to actively and effectively participate in the democratic and developmental process and also enhance their livelihood.

Two levels of training under the SCHEME

The two levels of IT training envisaged under the Scheme will have the following broad objectives:

Appreciation of Digital Literacy (Level 1)

To make a person IT literate, so that he/ she can operate digital devices, like mobile phones, tablets, etc., send and receive emails and search Internet for information, etc.

Basics of Digital Literacy (Level 2)

Besides IT literacy at a higher level, the citizen would also be trained to effectively access the various e-Governance services being offered to the citizen by the Government and other agencies.

Eligibility Criteria

Level 1 : Non-IT literate - Illiterate and up to 7th standard pass

Level 2 : Non-IT literate with at least 8th standard pass

Age : 14 to 60 years


Course Duration

Level 1 : 20 Hours (Minimum 10 Days and Maximum 30 Days)

Level 2 : 40 Hours (Minimum 20 Days and Maximum 60 Days)


Place of Learning

The eligible households can nominate one person from their family. The selected person to get himself enrolled under this programme in the nearest Training Centres.

Role of Training Partner

The Training Partners shall appoint the Training Centers in the selected Gram Panchayat with the minimum human, technical and infrastructural requirement. A Training partner has the responsibility of managing all the centres registered under it.

They are obliged to meet the following criteria: 

§  A training centre must be part of a registered organization in India with proven training and facilitation credentials in the domain of education/ IT literacy 

§  After all the documentation is completed by Training Partner, a Screening Committee constituted by NDLM PMU will visit/inspect the Training Centre and on receipt of satisfactory report of the Screening Committee, accreditation will be granted.

Role of Training Centres

 The training centres are responsible for the following: 

§  Conduct of household survey and digitization of data 

§  Selecting the beneficiaries eligible under the project and enrolling them for the course 

§  Imparting the appropriate training course to beneficiaries eligible under the project, including     providing course materials 

§   Registering the beneficiaries, marking the attendance, and conducting the continuous assessment using the OMA-cum-LMS 

 Keeping a record of all beneficiaries that enroll in the course, certifying their attendance and ensuring that the beneficiary appears for the examination.